top of page
  • Writer's pictureEva Chacole

Arson

The purpose of this fire isn’t to burn you

since only in these flames that melt your beautiful face to ashes do I find healing

there’s power in scorching the memories of our hostage happiness

as I release you into torrid blazes

only these embers can destroy those love lit gazes

like cauterising a wound

every warm glow glares brighter the more I try to forget you

sharp tongues grazing at my fingertips

leeching you from me without hesitation

it’s only fitting that being without you feels like eternal damnation

blurry eyed but fixated in fascination

I watch you disappear in smoke

a trick that has long since lost its magic for me 

however consuming, this heat is no match for the way we glared

like a match and gasoline

I would ignite you and you would spread all over me

we ravaged everything in our path and there was nothing left to grow in

but finally I relinquish all of us to the light,

photos curling at the edges

no, this fire isn’t meant to burn you, baby

it’s meant to burn bridges.

Recent Posts

See All

The Blackest Heart

Upon inspection it would seem nothing but grief seeps from behind her sculpted lips. Her pink tongue, slicing through good and bad alike as all her emotions blend into a volatile concoction of fury. B

Daydream

I am tethered to you so when you run, you pull this beating heart from me and I chase a little faster wanting to be close to you my eyes only shine this bright, when tears fill them as I imagine you m

Narcissus

soft like the love made to ivory keys by pale fingers and the whispering caresses of a dying sun trailing secrets locked in moonlit gazes as I drown in the lake of your twilight blazes, my narcissus h

bottom of page